• You are not logged in.

Colemak FTW! :)

• Started by dietsche
    • 19 Replies:

I started learning Colemak exactly a week ago and took advantage of the long holiday this past weekend. Today I used it the entire day at work (including vim)! On qwerty, I type around 90 wpm with 98%-99% accuracy at my 'normal speed' and have been clocked at over 100 wpm at typeracer.com recently.

My experience so far is that after 7 days of practice, I have a 37 wpm typeracer average. Today was good at work, but the last 30 minutes or so, I wanted to switch back to qwerty. I didn't though :)

Vim is OK... I keep hitting ss instead of dd, but the mnemonic system used in vim actually makes the change not too bad. The hjkl navigation change is really annoying, and I'm going to have to figure out something for that.

What else? The nicest thing so far is that I really do notice the difference in how much my fingers have to move when compared to qwerty. It's much more comfortable.

This post was brought to you by Colemak on a Kinesis Advantage keyboard! :)

Last edited by dietsche (30-May-2012 03:23:52)

Quick update, my typeracer average is now 46 wpm (day 10 - I started learning colemak on the 21st). I'm using Colemak fulltime at work since day 8, and that includes using it with vim. For vim I've decided to NOT do any remapping. The arrow keys are taking some getting used to, but they're ok... and when they're bugging me, I just use the arrow keys on my kinesis keyboard which are quite well placed.

Yesterday I was really frustrated and almost gave up (first day with vim), but when I tried to switch back to qwerty, I realized two things; 1) Colemak is *much* more comfortable to type in than qwerty and 2) I've lost my speed on qwerty, so I'm typing about the same speed as I do in colemak. The end result is that I decided to stick with colemak.

Wow, 8 days and your speed is 46wpm. How many hours of practice do you do each day?