• You are not logged in.

Programming and touch-typing

• Started by shalmu
  • 28 Replies:

I am a programmer with 15 years experience, recently I have decided to learn a touch typing. Of course I decided to learn Colemak for known reasons.
After 2 months in type-fu tutor, I am able to type text fast enough, but when I try to code, it becomes too hard, because I have to type lots of punctuation, for this I have to look down at the keyboard, and it wrecks the whole process. Basically my question is: do we have programmers here, who could give an advice on this? Is it possible to learn to code using a full touch-typing, are there any tricks for this? Any hep, advice or experience story would be much appreciated.

Full touch typing includes the number row, where punctuation keys are.

I use Typing Tutor 7 which teaches you full keyboard keys, including number row and the numpad.

Thank you, I will try the Typing Tutor 7.

Unfortunately I don't find the TypingTutor7, can you please post a link?

I program (C style languages), and I use Dvorak.

(Aside: Dvorak moves some of the punctuation away from the bottom row (Qwerty as reference).  And the brackets are moved to the the number row.  The hyphen and hash are found on the home row on a UK keyboard.  I _think_ I prefer these small changes.)

Qwerty, Dvorak and Colemak are designed for language rather than programming.   If you keep your hands in the classic home position (F and J nubs, Qwerty) you'll end up working the right hand more so, and the pinky will bear the brunt of the work.  Add home/end, page up/down and backspace into the mix and the pinky probably will show signs of stress.

You might be able to ease  off the pinky by using other fingers for the punctuation - perhaps having an alternative hand position for the right hand side punctuation characters.