• You are not logged in.

Colemak and shortcuts, especially in Visual Studio

• Started by Dugzor
    • 5 Replies:

HI,

So about 18 months ago I started using Colemak as a layout, instead of QWERTY. and i found it really great, the finger comfort was great, and it just felt loads better. I was doing a job then that required a lot of typing reports so the transition was ok as i went cold turkey and used it every day for hours.

I then started a new job almost a year ago as s developer and then my job turned into more thinking and short bursts of coding, with heavy shortcut use. I've been coding using Visual studio for a few years and am familiar with the shortcuts in QWERTY, is there a way around having to relearn them all for the new key positions (that i have not changed on the keyboard as it is a work one)? I know some are the same, ctrl x, c, v etc, but the shortcuts in Visual studio are so numerous that pretty much every key has a function or 2 assigned to it so it becomes a challenge!

I'm just curious to see if there is a way that anyone has found or any tips, or if it's just a case of sucking it up and relearning the shortcuts from scratch as after a few days at the new job I had to swtich back to QWERTY. Now i'm more onfident in my position and skills i can afford to play with things like layouts again.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts on this.

Duggy

Related:

On OSX there is a Dvorak/Qwerty layout,  when pressing the command key the layout flips back to Qwerty.  Useful for some Qwerty shortcuts that you are wedded to.

I found a project trying to get similar functionality under Windows and Linux:

https://code.google.com/p/dvorak-qwerty/

You might be able adapt what's there or take a similar approach.  There are  some members here that are familiar with building modifier layouts.