• You are not logged in.

Two weeks in via Tarmak

• Started by nate62341
  • 29 Replies:

I am starting my third week of the transition to colemak.  Tried going cold turkey, but couldn't cut it.   Then I tried Tarmak and it was much easier.  Phase one was easy, only took one day.  Phase two was difficult, but I mastered it in about two weeks.  Started phase three today and it is the most challenging yet.  The "o" key is hard for me to move. Plus, since I am a programmer, I use the semi-colon constantly.

The ENTK keys are very natural now, but moving FY and O seem odd.

Anyone else have more difficulties with some letters than others?

I suppose all of us do in different ways. I switched to Colemak the usual way, and I mixed up EIO in the first week, then RS, then PG.

Best of luck!

Most people hate the RS confusion with most vehemence but you haven't reached that yet. I've heard complaints about IO too, but it's so long since I switched that I don't remember other problems (also, I switched from Dvorak which is a bit different). Back then, I hadn't invented Tarmak so I couldn't try that... ;)

Ezuk, the first guy who tried Tarmak, did a "2.5" step Tarmak; he waited much longer before progressing to each new step. It's individual, but if you feel that a step is hard then maybe you could try waiting a little longer before taking it? However, you feel that your mastered keys are very natural so I guess you're okay to go.

Last edited by DreymaR (18-Oct-2013 11:37:46)

*** Learn Colemak in 2–5 steps with Tarmak! ***
*** Check out my Big Bag of Keyboard Tricks for Win/Linux/TMK... ***

i had very similar issues, i.e. moving through the tarmak phases, each phase is much more difficult than the last due to the accumulative effect of all the key changes, not just those in the current phase. Even if you think you've mastered the previous phase the difficulty still accumulates.

But for sure, the longer you spend in each phase, the more you should lessen this effect