• You are not logged in.

Colemak and Vim — plus zsh, tmux, less, etc.

• Started by bunnyfly
    • 19 Replies:

Hallo all. I thought I'd share my Colemak mappings for Vim and other console programs. These stay true to the defaults as much as possible while retaining traditional homerow HNEI arrows. I have been using these for 5+ years daily at home and work, and I love it!

I have also created fairly consistent bindings based on this for other programs and their Vi-modes:

• Zsh

• Tmux

• Less

• Pentadactyl [Vimperator]

There are many other approaches to be found in Colemak + Vim. Some alternatives are Shai's complete remapping of everything, LeoMaheo's very elegant and minimal approach, or just sticking with the defaults. This approach lies somewhere in the middle.

In a Nutshell

The idea is to use HNEI as arrows – keeping the traditional Vim homerow style – and changing as little else as possible. This means JKL are free to use and NEI need new keys.

• k/K is the new n/N.

• s/S is the new i/I ["inSert"].

• j/J is the new e/E ["Jump" to EOW].

• l/L skip to the beginning and end of lines. Much more intuitive than ^/$.

That's the basics...there're more in the actual code such as pane/tab navigation, but a few other highlights and notes:

• Ctrl-l joins lines, making l/L the veritable "Line" key.

• r replaces i as the "inneR" modifier [e.g. "diw" becomes "drw"].

• The default s/S is the only "lost" mapping, but it's synonymous with cl/cc anyway; I never found it useful.

The Code

I've copied the relevant mappings for Vim below.

For other programs [and .vimrc details such as Colemak NERDTree], you can explore my complete dot-files at https://github.com/bunnyfly/dotfiles.

There are some of my own personal settings and mappings, but most everything is well commented and Colemak-related bindings are almost always marked as such. Direct links: Vim, Zsh, Tmux, Less, Pentadactyl.