• You are not logged in.

Surprisingly rapid typing speed gains

• Started by zubari
    • 8 Replies:

I started learning Colemak on Tuesday, May 1.
    By Saturday, May 5, I completed all 12 colemak lessons on ktouch set to 96%/130cpm.
    At this point in time, I was able to type at about 20 wpm.

Since then, my typing speed has been increasing significantly every day.
    5/6 - approx. 25wpm
    5/8 - approx. 37wpm
    5/9 - approx. 51wpm(!)
    * tested using http://labs.jphantom.com/wpm/ and http://www.freetypinggame.net/free-typing-test.asp

I attribute this to spending a lot of time at a keyboard every day, and playing words for practice.

And now for some background.
    I stumbled upon Colemak a few weeks ago while trying out dvorak - which was a not-so-pleasant experience. I decided to give colemak a trial last week due in part to the suppose ease-of-acquisition of the layout, and in part to the rather fortuitious timing of Golden Week (a week long block of public holidays in Japan).

Although using a JIS keyboard posed a few early problems, I managed to set up colemak fairly easily on both Mac OS X and Linux. I have also been typing Japanese using colemak for Japanese input, but this hasn't been too good due to the poor placement of K and J. I will probably switch to one of the many alternative romaji based keyboard layouts after colemak gets comfortable.
    # I don't plan on using kana input, as the JIS kana layout is actually also rather poor. I also don't like how kana input layouts (including the tens of alternate layouts) end up either using 4 rows, or overuse the shift key.

Nice! I suggest you find the post on Colemak speed in the General forum and make (and update?) a post with your findings there.