• You are not logged in.
  • Index
  • Experiences
  • Thoughts after Learning (2.5 Months; fast touch typist)

Thoughts after Learning (2.5 Months; fast touch typist)

• Started by Zorg
    • 3 Replies:

First, let me say that I've been a fast qwerty typer (~100 WPM on typeracer) for at least 10 years.

I decided to learn Colemak due to the so called improved efficiency/comfort. I didn't have any problems with Qwerty; I just felt like learning a better layout.

I will also mention that I am a programmer that writes code and chats online.

And that I had a *lot* of free time for doing this.

Setup (cold turkey):

On my Mac at home, I just switched on the Colemak layout in System Preferences. However, since the layout didn't re-map caps lock, I had to download a couple third party programs (Seil, Karbiner) to achieve this. I also use the built-in auto-correct which really helps especially with words I'm bad at spelling (this has no effect on type racers though). I did used to have control mapped to caps lock but reverted that for Colemak's change. So is life.

At work, I was using Windows. Instead of installing the keyboard layout normally (which I wasn't "really" allowed to do), I ran AutoHotKey (which was permitted strangely) and downloaded a script that remapped all the keys. I stopped using AutoHotKey after a while though because of how buggy it was for doing this.

Under a Linux VM I was also using for a while, I just changed the System's layout - this was the easiest one; no 3rd party downloads.

--

Method:

The first day I used GNU Typist as a tutor to memorize all the keys on Colemak.

Then I daily went on 10fastfingers and typeracer.com to test my speed. I first used the basic test on 10fastfingers as a warmup (since the basic test is really too easy), then did many tests on typeracer daily to get my speed up.

Here are some rough typeracer logs I've managed to scrape up with changes to my average (not max) WPM:

Colemak:
    July 11: 15-20 WPM