• You are not logged in.

Hard time switching (Tarmak)

• Started by Yefb
    • 19 Replies:

Hi guys!

I've been working on my switch to Colemak with Tarmak (Thanks Dreymar). I can say, even if Tarmak has helped me a lot in the process, I've suffered a lot :S
    After 4 weeks working on this, I'm now in full Colemak, the more complex step, I guess. I already forgot QWERTY :P

I'm at around 20wpm, and it's getting hard and hard to improve  it.

I won't quit, I'm sure of that. I just want you to give some strength and help me staying motivated and mitigate the frustration :)

I practice A LOT with Type-fu in Mac, is it enough? Any other tips? Will my pain end soon? :(

Thanks!

davkol said:

you *will* wake up one morning suddenly typing much better.

LOL

Actually, I practice more than 1 hour per day. (I practiced almost 6 hrs yesterday and 6 hrs today).
    I do write all day as I'm a software developer.
    Btw, my productivity is down, but I'm kinda handling it.

I hate "L", I just can't get it right :(

When I asked about Type-fu being enough, I actually asked if I need to work with something else as a complement :).

I'm stuck in 20wpm, "L" it the big offender :(

Focus on your accuracy instead of speed. 98% is the common goal. Your speed will steadily increase on its own accord.

So, I'd better work at 20/98% instead of 35/90%?

I'm kind of frustrated, but this could maybe get better soon.
    I just need to focus on the right thing, in this case accuracy, I guess.

Yefb said:

So, I'd better work at 20/98% instead of 35/90%?

I'm kind of frustrated, but this could maybe get better soon.
    I just need to focus on the right thing, in this case accuracy, I guess.

Exactly.

going full colemak and lurking around the 20wpm mark is a *phenomenally* frustrating period

it will get better though - especially if you are putting in that amount of hours

and it is *all* about the accuracy.. never the speed