• You are not logged in.

Recommended finger placement

• Started by BullHorn
  • 46 Replies:

I've been typing for a bit over 20 years on QWERTY, self-taught, my own technique (not touch-type, more like Sean Wrona - alternating fingers and hands depending on the context - but not as fast, I usually average around 100wpm).

I'm trying to get into touch typing but doing this on QWERTY will be impossible after so many years of 'bad habits' so I'm trying it with Colemak.

From the Colemak official website, this is the recommended 'correct' finger placement:
Colemak_fingers.png

Now I want you guys to use your left hand middle finger to go from S to C and your ring finger to go from R to X. How is this even a thing? To achieve this you need to either rotate your wrist inward unnaturally or move your index finger to the right side. My fingers naturally go from S to X and from R to Z.

Is this madness or am I missing something?

The "Angle-Mod" variants attempt to address this very issue. Have a look here..

Mod-DH

This led me to customizing my own variant whose discussion was started here using a..

Poker2 Keyboard

The symmetry of the angle mod feels totally natural. There is no going back once you become accustomed to it.

Last edited by sdothum (21-Jan-2016 20:50:23)

I'm on a POK3R so I'll probably be able to do something like this too. The question is - if we all know that the 'right' way to do it is totally wrong (or requires a non-standard keyboard, which isn't even portrayed on the image anyway) - why is it the way it is?

I was trying to explain what I mean to someone on IRC so I recorded a quick video that shows it pretty well.

Natural movement (S to X) vs. 'correct' but absolutely horrendous movement (S to C):
https://goo.gl/photos/cPnS6c7i2CnwnKAE9