• You are not logged in.

Left-handedness & Old Colemak

• Started by ColMark
    • 13 Replies:

Hi—

I offer this just as a note to anyone else who may be left-handed. I am truly brand-new to Colemak—I've only been using it for a week, and during that week I've done some shifting back and forth between it and other layouts, so I can really only claim to have done pure Colemak for about three days. I have no prior experience with touch typing, although like most journalists, I can do a fairly impressive hunt-and-peck. (I'm not sure how fast I actually am, but I clatter the keys loudly enough to fool most people.)

Reading around on this forum I discovered there was an older version of Colemak in which the 'r' and 's' keys were inverted, so the home row started 'asrt'. For some counterintuitive reason, the thing that's been bugging me the most is exactly that combination. It had occurred to me that it might be better for me if the 'r' and 's' were flipped—counterintuitive because one would think a left-hander would have less trouble with the ring finger on that hand than a right-hander. But to make a long story short, I created a keyboard layout that flipped that one element, and it's a lot more comfortable.

Could be it's just a personal idiosyncrasy. Your mileage may vary. But if you're left-handed and have this issue, it might be worth a try. I'll definitely stick with this. If you want to see the original discussion on the 'Old Colemak' that gave me the moral support I needed, here's the link:

https://forum.colemak.com/topic/93-a-ta … et-please/

Happy typing :)

Many Colemak newbies struggle with the R-S switch. There's a good reason for it in the long run (bi- and n-grams), but in the start it seems harsh.

The older versions of Colemak, such as ASETION, were abandoned after careful consideration and much evaluation.

For the starting colemaker, the effect of efficient n-grams isn't always obvious as the typing hasn't reached full flow yet.