• You are not logged in.

Comparing COLEMAK QWERTY DVORAK

• Started by lgsa19
    • 6 Replies:

Hi there!

I am a student at The Glasgow School of Art and I am basing my current project 'update' on the use of different keyboards.

As a teenager using a nokia 3210, I was very used to using the numpad layout on my phone to text, and so as smartphones appeared on the market I continued to change the settings of my keyboard from the default qwerty layout to numpad (a bit odd I know!). Eventually this feature was removed and so I had to bring myself into the 21st century and just adapt to touch typing with QWERTY.

For my current project I am looking at the way in which we become accustomed to one method, whether it is qwerty, colemak, dvorak or another form of layout. I have re-stickered my keyboard and changed the settings to colmak/dvorak in an attempt to train my eye to the alternative layouts to qwerty and record how long this update takes for me to adapt to. By typing out the same passage I am looking at the speed difference and analysing the errors I am making, from which I hope to produce a visual piece of information.

I would appreciate any comments anyone has on their own transition from the 'default' qwerty, and why the change has been beneficial. Some questions I have in mind are:

Is the change in layout due to the type of work you are carrying out or your own preference?

Did you find your typing speed improved when switching from qwerty?

How long did it take to transition to a new layout?

Thank you :)

lgsa19 said:

Hi there!

I am a student at The Glasgow School of Art and I am basing my current project 'update' on the use of different keyboards.