• You are not logged in.

Split Spacebar

• Started by Warlord Xecc
    • 13 Replies:

I went Colemak cold-turkey two days ago and I love it, I can clearly tell It's far superior to Qwerty!
    I've already reached 50wpm and can find myself around the Keyboard quite well.

My biggest issue on Colemak is using Shift to capitalize letters, I've never used Homerow before and bringing my pinky down there feels quite awkward!
    So I thought why not try bring a use to my right thumb? Both my thumbs are resting on Space but I only use my left one! Splitting my Spacebar in half to turn the right side into Shift seemed like an amazing idea.

Is there some place that I could perhaps send in my Keyboard to get it modded to my liking? I'm quite fond of my Das Keyboard and would hate to need to swich...
    If not could anyone give me some Keyboard suggestion that fits my need?

Warlord Xecc @ Youtube

Warlord Xecc said:

My biggest issue on Colemak is using Shift to capitalize letters, I've never used Homerow before and bringing my pinky down there feels quite awkward!
    So I thought why not try bring a use to my right thumb? Both my thumbs are resting on Space but I only use my left one! Splitting my Spacebar in half to turn the right side into Shift seemed like an amazing idea.

I couldn't agree with you more! I have been saying this for ages: the shift keys in the default positions are not really fit for purpose. Although of course this isn't a uniquely Colemak issue.

Using a thumb for shift is a much better idea. That's exactly what I have been doing for at least a couple of years now.