Short story:

About 6 months ago, I was looking for a QWERTY alternative, tried DVORAK a few days but was happy to find COLEMAK, ever since no regrets.

Long story:

I started looking for new keyboard layouts since I could feel that my hand/fingers are taking the toll of the last project's programming work. I was a QWERTY user back then, I was not fast on the keyboard, mainly because as a programmer I usually type only several lines at the time then go back to analyzing the problem at hand. I remember doing around 80-90 on the average back then.

I started using Colemak (at home and work) just before I got my new job, I was fortunate since I got the time to train at home and I was not expected to do much in the first few weeks at my new job back then (most of it was classroom type training and some bug fixing that a colemak newbie could easily handle) I remembered practicing for 2 weeks with the tutorials provided in this site (the standalone typing tutorial at home and the web at work whenever I had time) After that, I was satisfied to have a 95% true accuracy on 40wpm, I had to put my newfound skills to the test.

I haven't noticed that I'm using Colemak for half a year now, last time I checked (4 mos ago) I was doing 70wpm and surely I had exceeded my previous QWERTY speed by about 10-20 wpm now (I'd check when I had the time. And it surely feels good to my fingers, now my only problem is the mouse.

As a progammer, I definitely liked the way it retained the locations of Z, X, C, and V. I also like the semicolon's new location, now I rarely press Enter or ' accidentally. (I program i C, C# type of languages)