• You are not logged in.
  • Index
  • General
  • Help on how to keep both ColemakDH and qwerty

Help on how to keep both ColemakDH and qwerty

• Started by Jhoravi
    • 1 Replies:

Hello to all who managed to maintain more than one keyboard layout. I need your advice on my problem.

I've been using Qwerty for 27 years & my latest speed was 130+wpm on monkeytype before I converted to Colemak dh.

My Colemak journey started 3 months ago with the initial goal of preserving my qwerty too. In my first month I trained Colemak dh on an ortholinear keyboard but I made sure to keep using Qwerty on my laptop keyboard so not to lose it. I even use my other thumb for spacebar on Colemak to make sure the layouts are handled differently inside my memory.

The approach didn't turn out well. Typing on both layouts made my Colemak progress extremely slow that I was struggling to reach the 25wpm barrier on my 1st month. For that reason I went cold turkey Colemak on the 2nd month and from there I started to see faster progress. One & 1/2 months more and my Colemak speed reached 80wpm. I enjoyed colemakDH particularly the rolls but there is a problem: My qwerty memory was lost!