• You are not logged in.

Wrist uncomfortable while learning?

• Started by srmagura
    • 8 Replies:

Greetings :)  I am new to Colemak. I've been practicing some each day for a little over a week, currently 33 WPM on Monkeytype.

Did anyone else have wrist/finger/hand discomfort while first learning Colemak? In particular, I find "you" to be quite awkward to type.

I'm guessing the discomfort goes away once you build the muscle memory. For context, I am 100+ WPM on QWERTY with 0 discomfort.

You're not alone, and you have the right ideas. If you want to talk with others experiencing the same thing, I can recommend the Colemak Discord. If you want to read a little about ergonomics while learning, I suggest you take a look at the Ergo page of my BigBag site. Link in my signature.

The particular trigram "you" isn't so great on Colemak for such a common trigram (trust me, most common bi- and trigrams are very nice on Colemak!), and it's a lot worse if you're coming fresh from QWERTY. Many QWERTY users underuse their right hand pinky, so when they come to a layout that uses it they feel uncomfortable about it. Some layouts have been made attempting to hardly use the pinkies, but those layouts aren't as good as Colemak.

Actually... Here you go, my Ergo page:
    https://dreymar.colemak.org/ergo-mods.html

Last edited by DreymaR (28-Oct-2021 12:24:33)

*** Learn Colemak in 2–5 steps with Tarmak! ***
    *** Check out my Big Bag of Keyboard Tricks for Win/Linux/TMK... ***

Thanks DreymaR!!!

I read your ergonomics page which was quite informative. The Star Wars parody is hilarious ^_^

It was specifically my right wrist which was causing problems yesterday and I'm not sure the angle/wide mods would do much to help with that.