• You are not logged in.

Colemak-dh on Corne (split, columnar. 42 keys)

• Started by mattias
    • 4 Replies:

I've been typing on qwerty for 20 years and never on a mechanical keyboard. A year ago I switched career and started working as a developer. I started with vim-mode in VS code but continued down the ergonomic (and efficiency?) rabbit hole and here I am typing colemak on a Corne keyboard with brown switches. I've accumulated eight-isch hours of keybr and currently practicing with eleven keys and get 26 wpm and 98.3% accuracy. But whenever i'm not seeing the letters i'm supposed to type, like now, it's a lot slower, even the words I have literally actually practiced on. So I figure that in addition to my keybr practicing I also need some "free" writing practice and what better way to get that than documenting my struggle experience on the colemak forum?

Current thoughts
    1. I'm struggling with R and S and constantly mix them up.
    2. I recently had to type a few sentences on a qwerty keyboard and was surprised to see improved use of ring and pinky

That's it for today, see you next time!

Hiya!

The Colemak Community FAQ mentions the common R-S issue and provides a training tip for it. Other than that, there are more training tips on my BigBag Training page!

https://www.colemak.org
    https://dreymar.colemak.org

*** Learn Colemak in 2–5 steps with Tarmak! ***
    *** Check out my Big Bag of Keyboard Tricks for Win/Linux/TMK... ***

Thanks for the advice, I'll for sure go for the R S filter as the FAQ suggests.

And time for an update. I'm now on 14 keys on keybr doing 30 wpm at 97% accuracy. While that's progress I also realize that this will take some serious time. A really annoying thing I've found is that I have to think about how words are spelled. I guess that on qwerty I had the spelling many words in muscle memory. But more and more words are ending up in my colemak muscle memory.

current thoughts