• You are not logged in.

Need advice on Colemak + Slovak

• Started by zblesk
    • 9 Replies:

Hello. First time posting here. I'm looking for advice on whether and how to move from qwerty to a colemak-based layout.
    I like the idea of more comfortable typing, and the Tarmak scheme I've recently learned about seems like a reasonable way to get into it.

Here's the catch: I'm Slovak, and most often write either in Slovak or English.

Basically, I'd appreciate advice on how to evaluate which version to move to, or if it's even worth the hassle.
    Here's a more detailed rundown on what I considered; but there still might be unknown unknowns, I'm new to this.
    Do any of you use colemak for writing Slovak, or maybe Czech?  (Of course I did search the forum; there's not much on Slovak.)

First off, the frequency of letters and bigrams is naturally different between English (EN), which Colemak was designed for, and Slovak (SK). It seems that the bigram frequency wasn't even calculated for Slovak before. (I've checked with the relevant national institute.) 
    It doesn't sound hard to actually compute those, but then - I'm not sure if it's worth doing, since I'm writing in both EN and SK and my particular stats would be different.

So therefore my Big Brain Move™ was to make key usage heatmaps (with the Training app ZSA provides for their Moonlander keyboard).
    Then I used paint.net to move the keys around, to see what they'd look like if I'd typed the same letters on a different layout.

So this is what the heatmap looked on qwerty:

UmtphWMpT7kk.png

(There will be inaccuracies: I do use homerow mods, layers, etc. But I think it's close enough. )

This is what it looked when I moved the letters around to match Colemak-DH, with the top 10 most frequent keys numbered:

uOIJwJKROH8F.png

The layout I used:

colemak_dh_main_matrix.png