• You are not logged in.

Thankful for Colemak Club

• Started by doublebandb
    • 6 Replies:

I've been using Colemak for a few days. I'm in 50s, so I didn't regularly use a keyboard until I was in my 20s. I mis-iearned QWERTY, developing a three or four finger combination of touch typing and hunt and peck at 35 wpm. I've tried to learn proper form QWERTY touch typing, but can't type faster than 20 wpm touch typing. Touch typing with QWERTY aggravates the carpal tunnel in my left hand, so I decided to start over completely from scratch with a more balanced key configuration.

The problem I've had with my favorite typing practice site, www.keybr.com, is it resets after less than 30 seconds at <5 wpm, which is infuriating. So I appreciate the Colemak Club site because it is designed for Colemak, and doesn't do that.

My motivation for typing faster is I'm a software engineer and do a lot of pair programming. Being a programmer in my 50s who is a terrible typist fulfills the stereotype that "old" people don't understand computers, which is certainly not true in my case. I don't think I'll ever get to 100+ wpm, but I'd be thrilled with 60.

Last edited by doublebandb (24-Dec-2023 18:03:38)

Incredible.

I remember my first day of Colemak, I was so proud, because I went from 4 to 12wpm after a grueling 5 hours (not all at once) of mind-melting idiocy.

I've hit records of over 140wpm on monkeytype, though I switched over back in 2009 and hit my peak when I took training seriously in 2020 (Covid certainly allowed for increased practice).

I truly think you can hit and exceed 100wpm. Give it 20 months

Colemak typist

Great work! You'll probably find the gains in comfort outweigh the gains in speed. That's thing I missed until I finally switched - just how good it feels.

Just goes to show, you are never too old to make positive life improvements.

Using Colemak-DH with Seniply.

Welcome to the world of Colemak!