• You are not logged in.

First week of Colemak

• Started by simonh
    • 11 Replies:

Hi all. I started learning Colemak last Sunday. Really enjoying it. I'm wondering what is the best way to build up speed?

I'm using typefaster on Vista. Should I keep my eyes on the onscreen keyboard or follow the text? Or does it not matter?

I can touch type with Qwerty, by the way, and from what I remember (I learnt using a program similar to typefaster years ago), we were told to keep our eyes on the virtual keyboard.

Cheers.

"It is an undoubted truth, that the less one has to do, the less time one finds to do it in." - Earl of Chesterfield

You should definitely look at the text, so you can learn to touch type.

Glad to see you are enjoying Colemak!

Hi Speedmorph. What I meant was with typefaster a keyboard is displayed like so:

screenshot.png

When learning is it better to look at the text or the virtual keyboard, which shows where to put your fingers.

"It is an undoubted truth, that the less one has to do, the less time one finds to do it in." - Earl of Chesterfield

in TypeFaster you should be seeing the Colemak Keyboard layout displayed.

In the picture you posted, you have selected the US Qwerty Layout (US-English) (second menu from upper left).   If you don't have Colemak option to select in the Typefaster, then you don't have the Colemak lesson plan installed ( https://colemak.com/TypeFaster ).  Once that is installed and you select it in the Layout menu then you will be to watch the screen.

Last edited by keyboard samurai (27-Apr-2008 18:49:30)

keyboard samurai, that is the screenshot from the typefaster website. I have it set up for Colemak.

• Shai
    • Administrator