• You are not logged in.
  • Index
  • Experiences
  • At 120+ WPM on QWERTY, is it worth the switch to Colemak?

At 120+ WPM on QWERTY, is it worth the switch to Colemak?

• Started by esplanade
  • 31 Replies:

Because I type at 120WPM on QWERTY and am attempting the switchover to Colemak.

I've been using QWERTY for about 7-8 years, and, at the moment, I touch-type at over 120WPM based on various online tests.  I've poked through some threads and noticed that most people on Colemak seem to be typing at around 70WPM... almost half of what I'm doing!

Is it worth the switch?  The things that appeal to me most about Colemak are (a) reduced wrist strain (I use instant messengers a lot, and I'm an avid blogger), (b) the whole geek factor with being able to say, you know, "Over the summer, I rewired my brain and learned a new keyboard layout.", (c) the fact that it seems more balanced than Dvorak, and (d) it's much more multilingual than Dvorak (learning a new Dvorak layout for Spanish? Being forced to revert back to QWERTY for Chinese and Japanese?  Nooo thanks!).

I'm going to be a college freshman in the fall, and I know I'm going to have some killer papers, so (a) is appealing to me even more... that and we're all required to have laptops, so no ergonomic keyboards for me!

Has anyone been in a similar situation?  Success stories?  Cease attempts now?  Thanks in advance for any and all input!

Edit: Right, I should post regarding progress... I've been training for maybe 4-5 hours and have come up with something like 14WPM on hi-games... lol.

PS: Is there any way to change the title of the thread?  :/

Last edited by esplanade (15-Jun-2008 09:45:23)

Colemak is noticeably more comfortable than qwerty, but it is not faster. If you are worried about injury then a switch is worthwhile.