• You are not logged in.

Starting out with Colemak + Kinesis

• Started by tantrix
    • 4 Replies:

Hi all,

After a couple of dabbles with Dvorak in earlier times in my life I've never got particularly far with it: the old story of a fast qwerty typist needing to type all day, every day. However last week I swallowed the propaganda* in dvzine.org (we have some paper copies in the office) and committed to having a go again. I found out about Colemak  through the Master Key typing tutor while doing Dvorak and managed to convince myself it'd be better mostly based on the quality of Shai's posts; the preservation of some keys notably the zxcv's; and fear of "ls -l" annoying me in Dvorak (I'm a unix sysadmin...).

(*I mean this in the nicest and most complimentary way! It's really well put together, and a great alt-keyboard advocacy tool.)

So, the questionnaire:

* What layout you've been using beforehand, and how long you've been typing with it

Qwerty since I was 10 (I'm 34 now), learnt to touch type when I was about 18 during a dull summer job doing data entry. I never really tested myself 'til I found Typeracer a couple of weeks ago that I used (very successfully) to re-train myself on the Kinesis keyboard. My average there is about 90wpm peaking over 100wpm--I had to do their "are you _really_ typing that fast?!" CAPTCHA test :-)

* How long you've been using Colemak for, and how many estimated hours per week you've typed with it.

Since this week, logged about 2-3h, so total newb still. I'm on the home row plus h and f (I have no idea why they do it in that order; ideas?) I've spent far longer than 2-3h reading about it though, the price/reward of being a geek...

* Mention the methods you used to learn the layout.