• You are not logged in.

multiple layout experience

• Started by bombadil
    • 12 Replies:

EDIT: final post for this thread, however I put it in another section:
    https://forum.colemak.com/viewtopic.php?pid=4763#p4763

----------
    Hi,

I've come back to see what's going on here on the forum... Welcome New Colemak'ers :))

Unfortunately I haven't practised colemak. For the past few weeks I was using primarly Dvorak but working occassionaly on others computers, to my surprise I discovered that I can touchtype Qwerty too! Reading other posts I see that probably it works the same way for others: when I started learning Dvorak, later Colemak, my earlier layout seemed to went away from muscle memory and seemed horrible alien. But surprisingly after a while, when the new layout gets burned deep in memory it is easy to use another alredy familiar layout. Similar thing happened regarding physical keyboard. When I got MS4000 it was alien, than it began to feel awesome but traditional keyboard was a pain, finally I can type on both only prefere MS4000.

What is more surprising is however I never touchtyped qwerty proficiently it is easy for me now. I've just took the keyboard today and did some practise, I can ride on qwerty than on dvorak on hi-games with no issues. My qwerty speed almost matching dvorak. :))) Nontheless I am begginer - about 250cpm (40WPM).

With that experience I am going to try other pair qwerty/colemak. For now I will switch to qwerty as my primary layout for a little time to master it deeper than I will try to mangle it with colemak layout. Lets see what happens. There is lots of common keys in qwerty and colemak so It may be even easier/faster. On the other hand maybe the total difference between qwerty and dvorak makes it not confusing.

Last edited by bombadil (20-Feb-2009 23:16:01)