• You are not logged in.

Previous hunt and pecker, switching over

• Started by Fizzid
    • 2 Replies:

I can hunt and peck qwerty at 40-75 wpm (depending if I can spew what's in my head or have to type what's on screen).  I use 3 fingers on my right hand, and 2 fingers on my left.  I can look away for brief periods while typing words I know well.  I have been programming professionally for 12 years, so it hasn't held me back at all.  My problem is that I have been developing RSI symptoms.  I think it's because I hover my left hand over the keyboard, which makes my arm sore.  So I figured I should learn to touch type finally.  While looking around I discovered colemak and dvorak, and figured I should try one of them since I'm starting over anyhow.  It's been easier so far learning colemak.  On day 4 I'm up to about 30 WPM without looking. 

Anyhow, figured I'd drop in and say hi, and maybe drop by every now and then and update you all on my progress. :) 

This was written in colemak so it took a few minutes :)

Nice to hear you're doing well, Fizzid. I've been using Colemak for about a year and a half. I can still remember the first few weeks when typing this would have taken several minutes.

As you are a programmer you may be interested in Colemak for Vim:

https://forum.colemak.com/viewtopic.php?id=50

and Emacs:

http://xahlee.org/emacs/ergonomic_emacs_keybinding.html

"It is an undoubted truth, that the less one has to do, the less time one finds to do it in." - Earl of Chesterfield

Welcome Fizzid! You've made a wise decision. Just don't overdo it in the starting phase, because you're bound to experience a little stress while learning. And take care to observe other good habits like position changes, underarm rests if you can get'em, breaks, good enough lighting etc.