• You are not logged in.

Yet another switching experience

• Started by dfyz
    • 10 Replies:

A year ago, I decided I had had enough of hunting & pecking, and started to learn touch typing. I'm a programmer from Russia; my job involves typing in English and Russian, so my initial goal was to become proficient with both the Russian ЙЦУКЕН layout and the QWERTY one. It went reasonably well with ЙЦУКЕН, I doubled my average speed from 35 wpm to 70 in a few months. After that, I moved on to mastering QWERTY. That's when I realized there was a problem with it. Speed was not an issue, I've managed to attain the same speed of 65—70 wpm pretty quickly. The awkward key placement, on the other hand, was just killing me. I could type ЙЦУКЕН (which is quite an ergonomic layout) for hours without experiencing any discomfort, but with QWERTY, a mere 15 minutes of hitting the keyboard would cause significant pain.

I was aware of Dvorak, but the need to relearn everything from scratch was scaring me. During my efforts to find something less startling, I stumbled upon colemak.com and skimmed the FAQ and the forum. The mysterious Colemak layout, which some of you may have heard about, seemed like a way to go. Very similar to QWERTY, even more ergonomic than Dvorak, installed by default in Linux, and with a very helpful and enthusiastic community. Actually, it sounded too good to be true. I dived into learning, skeptical, suspecting some sort of catch to it.