• You are not logged in.

Love Colemak!

• Started by timothy.crosly
    • 5 Replies:

I have been touch typing for several years using qwerty at 60 wpm average; but it took me at least 2 years of hunting and pecking till I got to that point. Since then Ive never gotten above 60 wpm -- despite typing several hours a day every day. After just 2 weeks of typing with colemak and I'm up to 40 wpm average on typeracer(with 47wpm being my record).  Every few days I feel like I am making 5 wpm jumps. It just feels so much more natural typing on it than qwerty!

There have however been a few negatives involved in the switching process:
      - I work as a software developer and for the last 2 weeks I have checked in significantly less code than I usually do because I was still getting used to the layout.
        (This is probably due to the fact that I am somewhat dyslexic -- and simply could not get myself to type in qwerty after just 1 day of using colemak at home.)
      - The capslock(colemak backspace) key on both my apple aluminum keyboards is kinda sticky. I find myself having to hit it twice per a key more often than not.

Overall,  I am very pleased with the switch to colemak and the increased comfort it provides.

timothy.crosly said:

- The capslock(colemak backspace) key on both my apple aluminum keyboards is kinda sticky. I find myself having to hit it twice per a key more often than not.

Well, the Apple keyboards haven't been designed with much ergonomics or even typing quality in mind, just "good looks" (and that's very subjective).  I once bought an Apple aluminium keyboard, mainly because it'd allow me to shuffle the keys to Colemak positions, but I hated it because I found the keys not being "distinct" enough for touch typing, if you know what I mean.  So I turned back to my older Apple keyboard (I'm no Mac user though) but I'm starting to dislike it too now, because some of the keys are getting sticky.