• You are not logged in.
  • Index
  • Experiences
  • Brand new user/need suggestions on software from experienced users.

Brand new user/need suggestions on software from experienced users.

• Started by harmono
    • 6 Replies:

I'm new to colemak. (Typing right now in Qwerty) I noticed that the software I used to learn colemak was pretty much the standard home row technique, which was pretty grueling since i did the whole series of lessons in one sitting. I wanted to pretty much go cold turkey.  I noticed there were two phases. One is just knowing the keyboard in your head without using charts, and the other phase of course is developing the motor memory.
    I only have the initial phase with some motor memory.

What I was thinking of doing was creating some software or a web lesson plan that quickly gets you through the initial phase of learning the new letters, then leaves it up to the user to practice, or go cold turkey.

I'm finding it difficult to go cold turkey because i'm tired, and I'm working, finding it difficult to be productive. It has reminded me however of the value of faster typing and how often we type at work.
    Temporarily I'm switching to Qwerty which feels awkward right now, until I get more practice tonight, and can type around 20 wpm.

Any suggestions on a lesson plan would be appreciated.  I think the home row method is good for the first lesson, but it seems you could add alot more new keys that are part of the old Qwerty set already.

For example: (switching back to colemak right now)
    The home row keys..
    tn tt nn tnt
    tnn nnt ttt
    st ssn nts sst snt ent tent nets sent
    inn in nit rit titter tint rent
    .... quickly adding new letters

then after the home row...

add qwerty quickly...

after adding qwerty.. continue adding colemak letters at the regular pace

the idea is to focus on memorizing the new letters as quick as possible to reduce the grueling drills that might discourage new users.

I can program in VB.