• You are not logged in.

Hit a wall at 60 wpm...suggestions?

• Started by gauchopuro
    • 7 Replies:

I've been using Qwerty for almost 20 years, apart from some brief attempts at learning Dvorak and Colemak. My speed was about 75 wpm. In October 2010, I decided to switch to Colemak.

It took about a week to get to 30 wpm in Colemak; until then, I kept using Qwerty at work (software development) because I just couldn't get anything done with Colemak. 30 wpm was the magic number for me where I could justify a full switch, and I've avoided Qwerty since then to focus exclusively on Colemak.

It took about 30 more days to go from 30 wpm to 60 wpm in early November. Since then, I've flatlined at 60 wpm and haven't made any further progress.

I've used KTouch and random online typing games for practice, but since I work at a computer all day that constitutes the majority of my practice time. I'd like to get back to my prior 75 wpm speed. My goal from the beginning was to match this speed in Colemak, and then aim for 100 wpm.

I've seen a lot of techniques and suggestions for improving in the 0-50 wpm range. Does anyone have suggestions for the 60+ wpm range?

Thanks,
    Spencer

Right now I can probably type at about 110wpm on a good day, but usually around 95 is where I stand. I remember that I hit a wall at 60wpm and honestly all that you can do is continue typing and have patience. Work on your accuracy and the speed will come. Most of the speed tends to come as you realize all the finger rolls that you can do on Colemak, and get around the awkwardness of a few trigraphs like you, ion and ein, and stuff like that. Always divide things up by an inward roll and another letter when they are awkward like that in your head and you will have an easier time typing them.