• You are not logged in.
  • Index
  • General
  • An evolved layout that takes into account alternate-finger digraphs?

An evolved layout that takes into account alternate-finger digraphs?

• Started by Garquill
    • 6 Replies:

We know that Sean Wrona, current fastest typer, uses custom digraphs and trigraphs to type ludicrously fast. It's impossible to make a perfectly optimized evolved layout that doesn't take these into account, because they directly affect how good a letter position is.

Are there any that try to do so?

I'm going to eventually design a program to try to do this, as a personal project, but it's a ways off as I'm still learning to program.

We are patient. You can take all the time you need.

Er... what exactly do you mean with alternate finger digraphs? Are we talking about putting frequent digraphs just on different fingers (as measured by same-finger-ratio), Keys one finger apart such as ring/pointer, same finger but alternate hand, having digraphs or trigraphs on the same hand but in consecutive order (rolls), or putting digraphs on directly adjacent keys (qwerty er, io)?

Since I'm not sure exactly what you mean, I can only direct you to the standard sites, Carpalx and The Keyboard Layout Project.

Last edited by cevgar (31-Oct-2012 14:36:33)

I mean hitting a certain key with a finger that wouldn't normally hit it if you typed strictly by the books
    It lets you type faster, so current evolved scoring models that don't involve this are faulted

Current evolved scoring models have a lot of problems, including that one. ;)

*** Learn Colemak in 2–5 steps with Tarmak! ***
    *** Check out my Big Bag of Keyboard Tricks for Win/Linux/TMK... ***

Oh, I see what you mean now. Interesting. I like it!