• You are not logged in.

Incremental Colemak for programmers

• Started by karl
  • 43 Replies:

During the process of learning Colemak, typing speed can grind to a halt. For this reason, an incremental learning method has been developed ( see Tarmak at https://forum.colemak.com/viewtopic.php?pid=8786#p8786 ). I love this idea but, as a programmer, I don't like how the ';' key wanders to the middle of the keyboard. As such, I am proposing an alternate method.

To change to Colemak, it isn't necessary to change all of the letters at the same time. There are two loops of letter changes that need to take place:

Small loop:
L>U>I

Big loop:
Y>O>;>P>R>S>D>G>T>F>E>K>N>J

The big loop can be further broken into smaller, intermediate loops. Unfortunately, the intermediate loops involve moving a letter to a temporary location. Tarmak moves 'J' and ';' to temporary locations. The method that I propose here only moves 'J'.

To incrementally learn Colemak, I recommend the following steps:

Big loop in 4 steps:
Step 1 (Same as Tarmak):
J>E>K>N (J travels to QWERTY E)

Step 2 (Same as Tarmak):
J>G>T>F (J travels to QWERTY G)

Step 3:
J>R>S>D (J travels to QWERTY R)

Step 4:
J>Y>O>;>P (J arrives at new home)

Followed by the small loop:
Step 5:
L>U>I

I recommend starting with the big loop due to the high benefit of getting EKN and GTF into their proper locations.

This process should make it possible to learn Colemak while maintaining typing efficiency. Hopefully, people find it helpful.

(For more ambitious learners, it is not difficult to refactor the big loop into bigger chunks, which would mean less travelling for J.)

[edited as per DreymaR's suggestion]

Last edited by karl (08-Apr-2014 04:15:57)

http://patorjk.com/keyboard-layout-anal … d/n2lXzPCr (please double-check)

First glance analysis:

1. Steps 1 and 2 agree with Tarmak