• You are not logged in.

Programmer switching to Colemak

• Started by Tetrinity
  • 79 Replies:

Hey Tetrinity...

Whenever I pasted code such as below into http://patorjk.com/keyboard-layout-analyzer/#/main, the results always come out as Programmer Dvorak and the Simplified Dvorak keyboard as the 2nd.. What made you switch to Colemak? I suppose that the keyboard layout doesn't really matter that much when it comes to programming, but reading how much typing you do in a day, I can't help wonder...

"#import <stdio.h>
#import "Fraction.h"

int main( int argc, const char *argv[] ) {
    // create a new instance
    Fraction *frac = [[Fraction alloc] init];

// set the values
    [frac setNumerator: 1];
    [frac setDenominator: 3];

// print it
    printf( "The fraction is: " );
    [frac print];
    printf( "\n" );

// free memory
    [frac release];

return 0;
}"

Hi knightjp, even though this wasn't addressed to me I'm also a programmer that thought about both Dvorak and Colemak and chose Colemak.

My thinking was primarily to just get away from Qwerty, and even in code both Dvorak and Colemak have a clear advantage imo.  Once away from Qwerty while there is a difference between Colemak and Dvorak in terms of straight coding "distance" travelled it's a bit hard to tell how big a difference that actually is. A lot of code is auto-generated or completed for me when I code.  For example, when I type syso and hit tab I get "System.out.println()" and when I type "for" and then ctrl-enter I generate the following with the cursor inside of the parens.

for () {
        }

What this means is what I type and what appears on the screen can be very different.  Added onto this is the fact that I still write a lot of emails, comments in code, and papers.  So on the whole I think Colemak might be slightly less "efficient" for straight coding but on the whole still seemed to be the better choice.